Regional contacts

Welsh regional council membership 

Dr Esther Youd

Chair of the Welsh Regional Council
Elected 2015-2018​

Eesther.youd@wales.nhs.uk 

T: 01443 443338

Ms Avril M O Wayte

Eavril.wayte@wales.nhs.uk

T: 01248 384262

Dr Geoffrey Armstrong

Elected 2012-2015

Egeoffrey.armstrong@wales.nhs.uk 

T: 01978 725345

Dr Catherine Bailey

Elected 2012-2015 Clinical Science Workforce Representative

Ecatherine.bailey2@wales.nhs.uk

T: 01683 238048

Dr Gail Curtis

Co-opted 2012-2015 Public Engagement Regional Coordinator

Egail.curtis@wales.nhs.uk

T: 01745 445293

Dr Christopher Fegan

Elected 2012-2015

Echristopher.fegan@wales.nhs.uk

T: 029 20716843

Dr Judith Fox

Elected 2013-2016

Ejudithfox@doctors.org.uk

 

Dr Ian M Frayling

Elected 2012-2015

Eian.frayling@wales.nhs.uk

T: 029 20744203

Dr Soma Gaur

Co-opted (Medical Workforce)

Esomagaur@yahoo.co.in 

Dr Philip Mannion

Co-opted 2012-2015
(Continuing Professional Development)

Ephilip.mannion@wales.nhs.uk 

T: 01745 534708

Dr Karen Poyser

Co-opted 2012-2015
(Public Engagement Regional Coordinator)

E: karen.poyser@wales.nhs.uk  

T: 0197 0635836

 

Dr Mared Owen-Casey

Elected 2013-2016

Emared.owencasey@wales.nhs.uk 

 

Dr Benedict Bowman

Observer

Deputy Trainee Representative

Enealbenedict75@gmail.com 

Dr David Cassidy

Observer - RCPath Treasurer

Edavid.cassidy@wales.nhs.uk

T: 01685 728266

Dr Owen Crawley 

Observer

Chief Scientific Adviser (Health) 

Welsh Assembly

Ms Jennifer Hancock

Observer

IBMS representative

Dr Ian McDowell

Observer - Chair LSSC

Eian.mcdowell@wales.nhs.uk

T: 02920 744851

Dr Kristina Robinson

Observer

Trainee Representative

E: kristina.robinson@wales.nhs.uk 

 

Wales deanery

Dr Richard Attanoos

Head of Pathology School/Training Programme Director – Histopathology  

Erichard.attanoos@wales.nhs.uk

T: 029 20743725

Dr Rachel N Jones

Joint Programme Director - Medical Microbiology/Virology

Erachel.jones11@wales.nhs.uk

T: 029 2074 4148

Dr Brendan James Healy

Joint Training Programme Director- Medical Microbiology/Virology 

Ebrendan.healy@wales.nhs.uk

T: 029 2074 4515

Dr Brendan Mason

Head of Public Health and Medical Microbiology School

E: brendan.mason@wales.nhs.uk

T: 029 2068 7755

Dr Michael Norman Badminton

Training Programme Director - Chemical Pathology/Metabolic Medicine 

Ebadmintonmn@cardiff.ac.uk

T: 029 2074 6588

Clinical genetics

Dr Alexandra Murray

Clinical Genetics - STC Chair & Training Programme Director

University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff

E: alex.murray@wales.nhs.uk

Clinical immunology

Dr Stephen Jolles

Immunology - STC Chair & Training Programme Director 

University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff

E: jolessr@cardiff.ac.uk

Haematology

Dr Clare Rowntree

STC Chair

E: clare.rowntree@wales.nhs.uk

Dr Ann Benton

Training Programme Director

E: ann.benton@wales.nhs.uk

Dr Helen Jackson

Haematology - Flexible Training Adviser 

E: helen.jackson@gwent.wales.nhs.uk

Infectious diseases

Dr A Freedman

Infectious Diseases - STC Chair, Regional Specialty Adviser, Programme Director 

T: 02920 742184

Other organisations

The National Pathology Programme Board (NPPB)

Website: www.wales.nhs.uk/sitesplus/888/page/70342

The Welsh Council section of the British Medical Association

Website: bma.org.uk/about-the-bma/how-we-work/uk-and-national-councils/welsh-council

E: bmawales@bma.org.uk

T: 029 2047 4646